The Medicare AUC Program

Who Will Be Affected?
Anyone who orders or provides advanced imaging tests will be affected.1,2

Which Tests Are Specified?
AUC will have to be consulted and documented to receive Medicare reimbursement for these advanced imaging tests.1-3

  • Nuclear medicine
  • Computed tomography (CT) scanning
  • Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)
  • Positron emission tomography (PET)

When Is the Deadline?
Phase 1. Educational and Operations Testing Period: January 1, 2020 – December 31, 2022, or the December 31 that follows the declared end of the public health emergency for COVID-19, whichever is later1,2,a

  • Providers are expected to consult the AUC and report utilization
  • Claims will not be denied for failing to include AUC-related information (eg, CDSM G-code, Healthcare Common Procedural Coding System modifiers) on claim forms, but inclusion is encouraged

Phase 2. Full implementation: currently set for January 1, 2023, or the January 1 that follows the declared end of the public health emergency for COVID-19, whichever is latera

  • Providers are required to consult the AUC and report utilization in order to be reimbursed by Medicare for advanced imaging services
  • Outlier ordering patterns will result in prior authorization

aDetails regarding the Medicare AUC program, including the implementation date, are subject to change without notice based on updates issued by CMS.

Which AUC Are Applicable?
CMS has identified a list of qualified provider-led entities that have developed applicable AUC. One of these is the American College of Cardiology Foundation, which helped develop the Multimodality AUC for Stable Ischemic Heart Disease.4,5

Which CDSMs Qualify for Use?
Please visit the CMS AUC page for a list of qualified CDSMs.6

Although qualified CDSMs have been selected, there are several point-of-care tools currently available. These tools are not yet classified as qualified CDSMs, but they can help identify which noninvasive cardiac imaging tests may be appropriate for patients at risk for CAD, using the applicable Multimodality AUC.